dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2000-05-19 -

2000-05-19 - 13:51:00

Every time the Cure goes on tour Robert Smith says its his last album, his last tour - He's been saying that since the 80s and I never ever believed it. One time I heard that when an interviewer asked what he would do after the Cure Robert said that he was going to become a professional snow skier(hahahaha!).

I went to the Cure concert in Atlanta last night . . . It was the first night of the Dream Tour in America - I was so thrilled about going I was unable to sleep for 2 nights before the concert in anticipation. I went with Chrissie and she wore her bright yellow tiger striped hat (after the concert a man came up to her and said "you a tiger"-- and she WAS - Rrraaar!)- I rocked out in my black leather pants and bra. (A guy at work asked me why I was going to dress up and why I cared about possibly meeting the band, he thought it was childish, "After all, its only a concert" - but I had to point it out to him that finally I am of age to sleep with the band) We were thrilled and pumped for what we thought was going to be an upbeat concert of the Cure's "greatest hits" The concert turned out to be so much more than I expected . . .

It was spellbinding. The band gave it their all. They started off the concert playing music from Bloodflowers and a few of their more upbeat songs, but this was definitely not a pop concert. They never even played Lovesong (actually Chrissie and I were much relieved about that one-) From the middle of the show until the end they played slower and deeper until the entire crowd was lulled, and lighters were lit in reverence. Some of us were near tears. This was definitely a concert meant for their long-time fans. Their first encore was The Forest - they really got into it and did not end it with the familair echoing bassnote which was new. Their second encore was Faith. The whole concert was full of their lesser-known songs and saddest ballads - it was one goodbye song after another. Robert was passionate and seemed tearful himself. It was clear to the crowd that this was really their last tour. What a wonderful goodbye . . .

I left feeling like I had been a witness to something very special, and I felt sad about the end of this era - not only for the Cure but for what it means to my life - realizing that everything comes to an end and the beauty of that -

I am really digging Robert Smith's words from the song "Bloodflowers":

"THIS DREAM NEVER ENDS" YOU SAID

THIS FEELING NEVER GOES

THE TIME WILL NEVER COME TO SLIP AWAY"

"THIS WAVE NEVER BREAKS" YOU SAID

"THIS SUN NEVER SETS AGAIN

THESE FLOWERS WILL NEVER FADE"

"THIS WORLD NEVER STOPS" YOU SAID

"THIS WONDER NEVER LEAVES

THE TIME WILL NEVER COME TO SAY GOODBYE"

"THIS TIDE NEVER TURNS" YOU SAID

"THIS NIGHT NEVER FALLS AGAIN

THESE FLOWERS WILL NEVER DIE"

NEVER DIE

NEVER DIE

THESE FLOWERS WILL NEVER DIE

"THIS DREAM ALWAYS ENDS" I SAID

"THIS FEELING ALWAYS GOES

THE TIME ALWAYS COMES TO SLIP AWAY"

"THIS WAVE ALWAYS BREAKS" I SAID

"THIS SUN ALWAYS SETS AGAIN

AND THESE FLOWERS WILL ALWAYS FADE"

"THIS WORLD ALWAYS STOPS" I SAID

"THIS WONDER ALWAYS LEAVES

THE TIME ALWAYS COMES TO SAY GOODBYE"

"THIS TIDE ALWAYS TURNS" I SAID

"THIS NIGHT ALWAYS FALLS AGAIN

AND THESE FLOWERS WILL ALWAYS DIE"

ALWAYS DIE

ALWAYS DIE

THESE FLOWERS WILL ALWAYS DIE

BETWEEN YOU AND ME

IT'S HARD TO EVER REALLY KNOW

WHO TO TRUST

HOW TO THINK

WHAT TO BELIEVE

BETWEEN ME AND YOU

IT'S HARD TO EVER REALLY KNOW

WHO TO CHOOSE

HOW TO FEEL

WHAT TO DO

NEVER FADE

NEVER DIE

YOU GIVE ME FLOWERS OF LOVE

ALWAYS FADE

ALWAYS DIE

I LET FALL FLOWERS OF BLOOD

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com