dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2003-08-14 - 12:50 p.m.

The party last weekend was FABULOUS.

Some of the people I had really wanted to be there missed it -- their loss! And also possibly their last invitation -- I'm tired of inviting people who by their continual not showing up and not calling are indicating that I'm not a priority friend. That's fine. This weekend I really appreciated how many wonderful people I really have in my life.

I wore the skirt I got from Teri Hatcher's garage sale. (The OUTRAGEOUS black lace petticoat with gold lam-e trim) When I first put it on, I couldn't find the right top to go with it, and when I showed it to Dean, he looked a little, um, shocked. And you know Dean is the one person who I care most about looking good in front of. So I considered not wearing it. But I put my hair in a bun with a couple of feathers, added glitter bracelets from our trip to Little India -- and the whole thing came together! I felt very festive. And it was a great conversation piece for meeting new people.

The house looked great, thanks to all the help from the girls and MORGAN and Dean cleaning and putting up pictures --It now feels like a real home. I was proud to bring people into it, and everyone liked it.

The whole night couldn't have gone better -- Dean drove in for the weekend and that just made everything the best for me, if he had been the only person to come it still would have been the very best party! -- Barbara and her entourage arrived first and really started the whole party off well for us, I only wish I had gotten to hang with her more! Chrissy DJ'd with her 80s new wave and 90s brit pop records, and she and I have the same taste in music so I was totally rocked the whole night, and for most of the night she hosted her own private karaoke show, which did not fail to include Rocky Horror Picture Show! -- The guys from downstairs all came, and they did a Michael Jackson Beat-It dance that was hilarious! They also brought their gay best friend who told me I had great cheekbones!-- Shannon came and brought us very expensive champagne, which was touching. She is one of the most thoughtful people I have ever known -- Steve from power-house came and it turns out he loves the invisibles! So it was cool that he didn't know anyone there, and Dean had never met Steve, and there was something very cool in common for me to introduce them with. --Jim came and spent the next day with us all hungover made everyone laugh. It wouldn't be a party without Jim there in the morning. -- And I can't believe it but MORGAN came!!! He spent the whole weekend there and allthough we hadn't seen him in a year it was like we had been best friends and old friends all our lives.

The only strange thing was the across the street neighbor, Eve -- there was some drama there, but luckily it was after I went to bed. No one will ever forget this party, thanks to her--

This weekend I'm going to Santa Cruz to see Dean and his new place. I have tomorrow off from work thanks to my new job! This has been just the best summer ever, full of so many mini-vacations and trips and with Dean to explore with. I can't believe it's the middle of august already! But luckily summer in California lasts through october . . .

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com