dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2003-12-09 - 7:08 p.m.

This weekend I had the inspiring experience of going to a store in LA called Panpipes. Their website isn't that impressive, but the class syllabus for their 16 week magic class is! I definitely plan on signing up for the magic class. My friend Power House Steve took it and he said it was awesome.

The store reminded me so much of The Magic Box on Buffy -- it was filled with all kinds of mundane pagan things which I'm not interested in) but they also had quite a collection of talismans and an entire wall of little bottles filled with mystery substances -- and as I watched people came to the people at the counter with candles and expressed their desires and the women consulted this spellbook and mixed potions into thier candle! There were several hundred substances in their bottles, it was impressive.

I'm not all superstitious or anything, and I'm not into wicca stuff generally, but I can't help but love this shop and these people for operating this shop against the tide of public opinion, and for being at least a conversation point for magick and wonder and mystery and herbalism. I'm really happy this place exists.

I went there to Christmas shop for you-know-who (who-else-likes-magic) and bought something special but not spectacular. I can't find the right thing for a Christmas gift and it's really important to me to do so.

I can't wait for the classes to start in February. Finally, someone is teaching a class in a subject of interest to me! (I'm bored a lot).

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com