dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2000-08-11 - 16:59:11

Been having strange dreams lately. The other night I dreamt I was in a country with people that reminded me of South America. Larissa and I were visiting spiritual sites, we ended up separated across a street when some kind of tragedy or accident happened and ambulances came and we had to weave our way to meet each other across the street. Then we went to the house where we were staying, where there were other bohemian types like ourselves. The house was on the edge of a village, on the side of the ocean. The house had only one entrance, on the top floor, and there were many levels of decks and scaffolding leading to the ground. Inside the walls were painted blue and the bohemian types were listening to John Coltrane�s �Ole.� I left something behind as we were leaving the place and had to go back inside 3 times to search for it, but each time the water level was raised and I had to wade through deeper water to get to the decks or the ladder. All this time Larissa was waiting for me outside, but when I came out of the house the final time, the scene had totally changed. I came out to find myself in a courtyard ampitheatre surrounded by low dwellings and my mother was waiting for me this time. To get to her I had to walk across the courtyard, and a festive religious ceremony was taking place. My mother was pleased to be there to witness the ceremony which was Christian, but it was very primitive and there were people wearing chicken feathers and dancing and passing a chicken bowl around, it was very ritualistic and poultry was the key ingredient. Strange. And as we were leaving, the 2 individuals in the ceremony, a man and woman priest and priest and priestess came up to me and kissed me on my face. I got the sense I was marked by them somehow. Then I turned around to join my mother, and Jim was there too. He was very happy. I got the sense that Jim was my husband and that this was a family vacation and Jim was accepted and welcome. We walked on through the village and my grandfather, my mom�s dad, joined us. He died a couple of years ago, so when I saw his big goofy smiling face I was so happy � In the dream I was aware that he had died a couple of years ago and I missed him, but I completely accepted the fact that he was with us now and didn�t think too much about it. As we walked on we walked out of the village and past a waterfall � I found that my mom was getting on my nerves and several times during this walk she would say something to trigger me and I would start yelling at her, enraged. Then I caught myself and stopped and apologized to her and told her I didn�t know why I kept flying off the handle � and she gave me some wisdom. She said that life is like a waterfall and there is a constant flow and we float along like a rock in the river, sometimes settling for a while, sometimes flowing down � but there comes a point where we�re poised like a rock over the edge of the falls and she said that�s the point where I was. Even though when you go over the falls you keep flowing, the river continues, still � when you�re on the edge of the falls you�re going to be different because you are in a strange precarious place in life.

Then I dreamt about my mom again the night before last. I dreamed the two of us were visiting a historical site � we were visiting the abandoned homes of people who had died. The homes had entrances that were above ground and then went down into the side of this hill like cave dwellings. There were steep pathways and staircases down on the inside, and the dwelling itself was many levels of rooms with rock/dirt floors and walls. The people who had lived there had been killed by either some sort of Gestapo, or by natural disaster like a gas leak or something � They had lived there sometime between 1650 and 1950. So we are walking down into this place and I find myself climbing down through the place much faster than my mom, to where I end up waiting for her at the bottom. In every little room on the little tables and furniture there are plates out with food- 3 different kinds of cake and one plate full of ground beef corn-tortilla burritos. I eat from every plate, or course. When my mom joins me I feel a sense of dejavu � and think back to a time (not in real life but in my dreamself life) where my mom and I visited another historical site of a boy whose home had a very long staircase and he died while trying to go down the staircase in his wheelchair.(Reminiscent of the movie �The Changelings?�) So then we join together and leave, it is a sunny day outside and we are happy.

I have notice patterns in my dreamlife � and in the country where my dreams take place. I wonder if I am dreaming about someplace I can visit in my waking life, or if all of my dreams have to do with a dreamland of my very own, an undiscovered country of my own? In any event, this place has dense forests and rivers with waterfalls, and all of the buildings/dwellings seem to have many levels and involve much climbing around on the inside. The furniture in my dreams is always very sparse. There are many caves. The grass is always green � it is very beautiful.

I am concerned about the patterns in my dreams for tragedy, for visiting places where tragedies have happened or are happening and for always having a sense of tragedy behind the mirth in my dreams.

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com