dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2000-08-06 - 23:46:14

I have spent most of the last 2 days completely alone, just hanging out at my apartment with myself. I am in bliss - this time alone has meant so much to me and even though I went into this weekend with only plans to relax and read a book, I have come out of it with a whole new set of goals and understanding of my life.

What I realized today that I need is time spent alone each day with myself. I have been reading up on meditation, so maybe eventually I'll try that. But reading a little of my Tao book and spending time just laying awake on my bed and time practicing my guitar or writing in my notebook - all these things are little forms of meditation that do my soul good. I have spent all this time alone and have never once been bored or wished I weren't alone -- and I see that this is the kind of life I mean to lead when I go to Boulder. I know it will do me good.

I don't know how long I'll end up being here in Atlanta. The way things are going, Me and Larissa could leave October 1st, or November 1st, or January 1st - whatever the case I have made some short-term goals for myself-development that I want to reach before I leave. These are:

*to learn to use Adobe photoshop (it's on Larissa's computer and I know I am going to want to be doing more web-design in the future, now is my chance to get the skills necessary to do so)

*to self-publish my poetry (even if its only a little photocopied stapled book of my stuff, I want to feel accomplished and I want to have something to show for myself - I want to be proud of the work I do)

*to write a poem a day (or so. I was reading in my Tao meditation book the other day that everything can be a poem, raised deer fur, a trickle of blood in the gutter, sunlight on whitewashed walls -- and that those who wish to know Tao better should cultivate the poet in themselves. I read htis and I realized that my path of self-cultivation begins with poetry - and there's no reason I can't a poem every day for my own joy, even if it never becomes anything more.)

*to improve on the guitar (this means practicing.)

And I've thought alot about my future, and who I want to be when I grow up (hahahaha) and I looked in the mirror today and you know what? I think I'm someone unique and what I want for myself is to travel and to continue the path of self-cultivation that I'm on. So to that end I've made some plans for myself for the next couple of years -- it will be interesting to see whether things turn out this way or not. My future plans go like this:

*Move to Boulder -- where I will become a smelly hippie. I will spend my time alone thinking and writing and playing guitar and hiking and camping. I will own very little. I will meet other bohemians and hang out in coffee shops and blues bars. I will eek out a funky me-centered existence. By the time I leave there, I will know how to sing and I will have started writing poems for the guitar. By the time I leave there next August, I will be well on my way to being Bob Dylan.

*Go to Romania with my mom, then travel Europe -- where I will become one of those backpacking hippie types. I will spend time working with Orphans with my mom, then generally sight seeing and broadening my view of the world. I will find out what, if anything Germany and/or Poland has in store for me. I will sharpen my mind and my tongue for languages and my cultural appreciation. The time spent here would be anywhere from 3 months to 3 years.

*Come back to North America, meet up with Larissa, and put myself out there -- I will get the ball rolling for publishing my poetry or touring as a folk singer or as a spoken word poet -- I might even get together to do something creative with Ryan/Jim/Larissa depending on what projects they're working on. But in general, I am going to make myself known to this world and make a mark on it somewhere.

And eventually, of course, I plan to end up in Vancouver -- where pot is almost legal, where there is a state-sponsored needle exchange, where me and Larissa can happily marry, where Deanna my moon sister is, where flowers bloom and grass is green and the ocean is on your doorstep.

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com