dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2001-01-24 - 05:29:29

Last night and tonight I've been practicing my guitar. Its acoustic/electric so I have fun just playing, and then later connecting it up to the amp. I feel like such a badass when its hooked up electically! But in general, it just feels good to play. I'm a beginner, but i don't care - its just good for the soul to get physical with the instrument and then hear the music come out and feel the progress I make.

I realized something VERY IMPORTANT today. I think I've been depressed lately because I'm thinking/analyzing too much. I'm spending alot of time doing this thinking stuff and it just ends up driving me in circles. And you know what? My life is GOOD. I have no current tragedies to get down about. I have people that love me. I am smart. I have beer in my fridge. I have music to listen to. I have books to read. I have a guitar to play. Life is good. I think if I spent more time DOING and less time stewing, I'd feel much better and I'd be in the moment more and I'd realize that there's really nothing to be blue about.

From now on, whenever I'm down I'm going to pick up my guitar and play it. Not only will I end up getting better at the guitar, but playing makes me stop thinking and focus on the music and I always feel much much better.

So if you don't hear from me as often, dear diary, its because I'm probably playing my guitar, or doing some non-journal writing. Its all good . . .

My guitar still doesn't have a name - I am still thinking on this one, i'm sure it will come to me . . .

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com