dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2001-06-20 - 12:43 a.m.

Happy Birthday To Me!

Its just after midnight . . . which means its officially June 20, officially my birthday again!!

Last year at this time I was crying my eyes out on Leslie's futon on the floor of her room.

My life has come along way since then.

This year my birthday will be spent driving to my late grandparents lake house and visiting with family who live next door to their old house. Not an exciting birthday by any means, and really without my friends it won't seem like a birthday at all. I'll be given a few cheesy gifts by my family, and mostly my birthday will be ignored in light of the greater event which is a small family-reunion of sorts. So as far as my "Birthday" goes, it won't really count.

But as far as an in-general drama-free all-around good day - it will be. Going to "The Lake" (we all just call it "the lake" and everyone knows where we're talking about. Its as if there's only one lake in the whole world! When I was a really little kid, I thought it was!)brings back alot of memories from me, from childhood (and from adulthood when I lived there one summer to care for my grandmother - it'll be trippy to be back.) But going to "The Casa del lago" is always a hoot - we can go sailing on Betty's little Catamaran, we will eat ham sandwiches and drink Coors light, we will walk around in the hot sun with our toes in the cool grass and tell jokes and have a good clean time. In the evening we will spread Avon's Skin-So-Soft on our bodies and sit out on the porch and watch the lights reflecting on the lake, and talk of old times. I do love my family (especially since I don't see them too often, tee hee!) and it will be a good day -- I'm looking forward to it.

And the next thing I know - the next day, a big machine that flies in the air will whisk me away to see my friends in Los Angeles! I can hardly wait. I'm a lucky gal indeed.

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com