dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2001-07-17 - 1:07 a.m.

Today, I would like to pay tribute to my favorite bar in the world, the place where I grew up, the essence of Atlanta, the cradle of the blues,

Northside Tavern

They put a website together for it -- and this place is the one place I visited on my only night in Atlanta last month, its the place where my friend Cory bartends and where my other bestest friends hang out, its the site of many nights of good times and a few dramatic moments in our lives, it is THE unsinkable, undefeated, undaunted, quintessential DIVE.

Its a bar that you can still smoke in. A bar that makes no fancy pretenses, that isn't ashamed of its barness. A bar where some of the best down-home spur of the moment blues is played. A bar where the bartender is my friend and doesn't measure the shots. A bar that serves Southern Comfort. Alot. A home away from home, if you will, a hive.

Northside Tavern I miss you. There is only one of you and you're in Atlanta. Far far away from me. But you just keep on doing your own Northside Tavern thing, you just rock on with your bad self. It makes me feel good just knowing you're out there and still kickin it live.

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com