dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2001-09-11 - 8:28 p.m.

I have been watching CNN for 13 hours now.

I just wanted to write to anyone who reads this -

That my heart goes out to everyone in New York and Washington right now and the families of all those missing or dead.

All of this is just too horrible to believe.

Thousands of children went to school today happy and found out after school that their parents were dead, or missing. My heart breaks for them.

I couldn't just stay by the television. I went to the local hospital to give blood. I live in North Vancouver. The people at the hospital sent me home. They wouldn't take my blood because their blood bank is only operational once every two weeks. I told them that the news stations were calling on people to donate blood and so I came to offer mine. They said, "how come?" I said, because of tragedy of the attacks today." They said "What do you mean?" I said - "You mean you haven't heard? The World Trade Center towers both collapsed today as a result of hijacked plane crashes. " The old bitches said "Oh yeah, we heard something about that." I said " TEN THOUSAND OR MORE PEOPLE ARE DEAD." They said, "well, come back in two weeks when the blood bank is here and they'll take your blood."

fuck canada. I can't believe how lazy and unfeeling the people here can be.

300 firefighters lost their lives today just trying to save people. I bet their children were so proud of them. "My dad is a firefighter" I bet they brag to their schoolmates.

I feel so inert, so ineffetual I want to be a firefighter.

From now on, I'm becoming politically involved.

My love goes out to you, America, and to your children, and to your living and to your dead. I am grieving with you. I love you.

I'm moving home.

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com