dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2001-10-05 - 3:58 a.m.

Hi.

I've been neglecting my diary. But I've been writing 5 pages a day towards my little novel, so yay! the more this thing progreses the more I realize how much work i have to do. Not only do I alot of general scenes/incedents/moments/conversations/events that I want to include -- but in general alot of what I've written so far has been pieced together from writing throughout this fall, in different moods. I realized today that the book is going in different directions. Some of it is in the jack kerouac spontaneous recollection style (the part about the Canadian road trip) and some of it is in nifty storytelling action oriented form. The result is that some of it works as a retrospective piece, and some if it works as dramatic storytelling -- but they're really two different styles. The storytelling part that I've written in first person would do much better in 2nd person - except that i have these brief runs of descriptive writing that can't really change from 1st to second person without a major major re-write. So I've got my work cut out for me. I'm tempted to write two completely different versions of the story, one from 1st and one from 2nd person -- but that would take ages and ages and ages and its really just making more work for myself.

I used to do that alot though in school -- write two versions of my papers or alternate versions of poems. I don't know if its because i really wanted to get it just right, or that i was too indecisive.

In any event -- I'm just keeping on keeping on with it right now - getting it all down on paper as it comes to me. Once all the events are put into place, then I'll work on style choices. For right now, i'm just enjoying the writing process, and writing this for me. I'll worry about literary criticism later.

But I heard the most exciting news in the whole world today:

THE CURE

IS PUTTING OUT

A NEW ALBUM

NOV 13!!!!

Its a greatest hits album, with only two new songs, but I already searched around fan websites and the elektra records site and heard the new song. Damn, if its not fan-fucking-tastic!

What I love about the Cure (besides the achingly good looking and beautifully moody lead singer Robert Smith) is that they keep on keeping on. Every couple of years they change their line-up, or are rumored to have broken up, or have thier "last" "final" tour. They got together playing punk in 1977 and its 2001 and they're still doing it - still putting out their own brand of dreamy sad music, still teasing their hair and wearing lipstick - no matter how old they get. Robert turned 40 this year. And he's still the hottest thing in pants, if you ask me. (Except maybe for the rocknroll art guy i have a crush on, who cancelled out on his date with me and promised to "give me a shout" on saturday. We'll see. Maybe its not meant to be. Maybe its ok that we don't always get what we want in life)

LONG LIVE ROBERT SMITH

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com