dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2002-09-13 - 12:23 a.m.

I've been blue the last few days. Not sad or depressed -- just a little blue. The kind of blue that makes you cry a little when you hear a sad story on the radio in your car, or put an extra blanket on the bed at night because you just want some extra weight over you. Just a little. Blue.

I think it has to do with the end of summer. This was my first summer in California, my first LA summer, and it's over. Fall is here now (not that you can really tell too much seasonal difference in the weather out here) and my summer memory making chances are over until next summer. . .

And even though I don't know anyone in New York, my heart still goes out to those who lost loved ones there. I don't know what I would have done if that had happened to someone in my heart of hearts - I can't even wrap my mind around it, and I don't want to.

I've been reading alot about New York, and what it's like for people who live there . . . and it's made me think about my life in LA. So I'd like to write about it

I live in a building in Koreatown, or "K-town" as we call it. There's nothing Korean about my building, all of my neighbors are Mexican-American. I live on the 5th floor. The building was built in the 1920's - I take the old funky gated elevator up to the 5th floor every day after work, unless it's broken. Then I walk 5 flights, which I don't mind unless I have laundry with me.

My apartment has brick walls, and everyone says it's really "New Yorky". It's a corner apartment, and the view looks out over downtown, which is gorgeous at night. L.A. is strangely flat, and there should be no reason why my 5th floor apartment should tower over the neighborhood, but it does. I can see for miles and miles in either direction.

My apartment has hard wood floors, and the strappy black sandles with a heel that I wear to work every day make loud clicking noises against the wood as I walk down the hall - and I feel satisfied by that noise. It makes me feel alive, because I'm making a sound.

I like to go up on the roof of my building. I don't know why more people don't go up there. There's never anyone up there but me. The view is 360 degrees and LA fabulous - North I can see the Hollywood sign and the Observatory, East is palm trees on my street and way in the distance the buildings of downtown Santa Monica, South and West is downtown LA with the skyscrapers. I go up there to look at the sunset, which on a good day is day-glo pink and orange because of all the dust in the air, and it takes up the whole sky, and the palm trees silloutte in front of it so beautifully - That is what I always pictured California to be like when I was a kid, and it's even more beautiful.

I'm on my lunch break. I have to go back to work now. I want to finish this . . .

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com