dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2004-02-25 - 1:11 p.m.

I am BURNING UP and have been since I heard that God Damn Muther-fuckin' shitty excuse for a President George Dubya Bush's voice on the radio yesterday calling for a Constitutional Ammendment against gay marriage.

This is an issue of CIVIL RIGHTS, my friends. Not gay rights but EQUAL RIGHTS. And we have got to step up our game and end the "separate but equal" practice of civil unions and see to it that EVERYBODY in this country has the SAME RIGHT to get married under the law.

I can't believe it took me this long to get riled up about this. I can't believe it took me this long to see this as an issue of equality and to become informed about this. I always sort of assumed that the wheels of justice turn slowly and are in motion -- but now I realize that there are people out there putting up roadblocks to those wheels and if we want justice we have to carry those wheels on our backs and jump over the roadblocks and take them to the finish line.

Not that I'm actually worried that this constitutional ammendment will pass -- because it's really difficult to get an ammendment to the constitution, it has to be passed by congress and ratified by 38 state legislatures, and I just don't think that's going to happen. President Bush (puke!) is doing this as a campaign move to create a wedge social issue between him and Kerry, and to take the attention away from our huge deficit, our huge national debt, the deaths of our country's young men in Iraq, and the lack of jobs.

What if someone told me that I couldn't get married because of my gender? That because I was a girl, I couldn't get married to the person I loved? This is what is happening to couples all over our country, and we have got to stand up in solidarity with them and help them win this battle for equality.

Leslie and Chrissy are talking about going to San Francisco to get married!!

I hope they do -- Time is running out because our governor is about to put the smack down on San Francisco this Friday, I think - and I'm not sure if Leslie and Chrissy are going to be able to go this weekend or not. But I hope they do - This is HISTORY in the making and it seems to me the more people that get married in San Fran while they still can, the more of a voice the gay community has, in showing the number of couples who are ready for this.

So I say to Leslie and Chrissy: YOU GO GIRLS!

And another thing, I just don't understand why the conservative right isn't idealogically in support of Gay marriage? I understand (but disagree with) their biblical objections. But here are gay people, whom the right always criticizes as being promiscuous, standing up for FAMILIES and FIDELITY. Isn't that what they should want?

And aren't the Republicans and the right wing all about small government? They're always talking about how they want the government to take their hands off corporations and our tax dollars -- but they'd rather have the government in the bedrooms policing people's relationships? So much so that they want constitutional ammendment denying states rights to decide on this issue and ensuring that people are denied their civil rights?

The world is getting crazier and crazier. We have got to get this madman Bush out of office. We have got to stand up for EQUALITY and JUSTICE. We have got to do something about the inequality in the law forbidding some people to get married. The time is NOW.

Here are some links I recommend about this issue:

Margaret Cho's Blog

Human Rights Campaign

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com