dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2002-11-02 - 4:16 p.m.

2002-11-02 - 2:02 p.m.

Halloween Night 2002:

Ok, I have to write about Halloween in response to my previous entry. To reiterate the fact that I can be fun, and that I'm lucky to have La for a friend - who else would have gone out with me?

So we decided to go to the West Hollywood Halloween Carnival going on on Santa Monica Boulevard. We knew there were going to be 300,000 people there (literally!) and driving was not going to happen. So the night started out with a long walk to the bus stop, and a long busride to the party.

Let me interject here a word about our costumes: La had made a feathery bird costume out of real bird feathers - brown speckled fluffy feathers - which she made into a mask and glued to fabric to make sort of feathery gloves for her hands. I wish I had bought the Gold account with Diaryland so I could put up the picture - Magnificent! And I of course was in the big yellow butterfly costume. I had to take my wings off to ride the bus.

We must have walked 5 miles that night! When we got within 8 blocks or so we got out of the bus and walked because the bus was so slow. Then when we arrived there was a detour, we had to walk around a gigantic city block to get in. Once inside the gates, we saw a hundred thousand people partying in the streets!

The costumes were out of this world. & foot tall men in geisha costumes, or in las vegas showgirl type outfits, each costume more elaborate than the next. The drag outfits were the most outrageous and amazing, there really is no describing. It was totally worth it to see all the people --

We didn't stay long as we weren't in the mood to drink too much, and didn't know anyone nearby to stay with, so we started the long journey home by walking straight up the motherfuckin hill to Sunset boulevard. Steep! At the top, we decided we deserved a rest, and stopped into a bar for a cocktail.

All throughout the night people were commenting aloud when they saw a costume they recognized, and it was obvious I was a butterfly, so I got alot of people saying "Hello Butterfly" and the like. But the men in this bar took the cake. One big fat white business man who was so drunk he was slurring his speech kept saying "Butterfly" but it came out really funny. The black man next to him was patting the seat for me to come over and kept saying "Butterfly" too, but it came out sort of Mohammad Ali-ish. I guess there's no point in writing about it. This was an audio experience that La and I laughed about the rest of the night.

So we have our martini then we sit at the bus stop again. But after a half an hour, we start to lose faith in the bus, and decided to pool what was left of our cash, which was 8 dollars, for a taxi. Praying it would get us home. HAHAHAHA - 8 dollars down sunset from La Cienega to Cuhenga? I don't know what we were thinking. We got in at La Cienega and got out at Gardner. And were still 2 miles from home.

But, just at that minute, a MIRACLE happened. I do believe this was a straight out MIRACLE. We didn't have enough money for two bus tickets and we were going to have to walk all that way or call Jim or someone and it was going to be very ugly. But just at that moment two guys in a pickup truck pulled up and said to us and the other guy at the bus stop "Hey, y'all want a ride?"

Hell yeah! We jumped in the back and laid down on our backs to the cops wouldn't know we were there, and stared up at the palm trees and the murky night and laughed and talked with our flatbed friend Warren all the way home. A MIRACLE!

I really believe that some how the universe answered our need in someway, there is no other explanation for that kind of timing and generosity.

So the Bird Queen and the Butterfly made it home safe. And that was my memorable Halloween. So I shouldn't be whining about La not spending the weekend with me, we just went out the whole night for Halloween! I was just being pissy.

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com