dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2003-01-27 - 12:57 p.m.

It was a wine-full weekend. Saturday night La and Jill and I got some wine and planned to have a glass or two before playing Master Clue. We never got around to the game; we finished two bottles of wine and had some insightful discussion and then we were just hitting our stride so we bought MORE wine.

Then Leslie and Chrissy came over and brought with them a friend from Atlanta, an actor. I recognized him through conversation and it turned out he had been a patron at Billy's, the hole in the wall bar where La had worked in Buckhead back in the day. I remember him because he had worked for Ween, and he had told Leslie she looked like Angelina Jolie, and we all did a few rails together. (what a long time ago!) Never saw him again. Then he shows up with Leslie and Chrissy here in LA! Leslie and Chrissy didn't even know he was the same dude, because they met him again as an actor under different circumstances. It just goes to show you it is a SMALL SMALL WORLD!

Anyway, we all got really drunk then, like in the old days, and Jill endeared herself to me for all time by telling me that she thought I was like milk, feeding everyone around me with my nurturing relaxing presence - It was such a compliment, my eyes teared up. It was a really good time. I love Jill.

As it turns out -- Jill was born on the exact same day in the exact same year as Dean - what a bizarre and delightful coincidence! I look forward to introducing them.

The next morning, I was more hungover than I have been in YEARS. Red wine makes for the WORST hangovers and I have vowed never to drink so much red wine at one time again!! I was literally writhing on the floor in misery.

So La took care of me. The worst part of my hangover is the self-criticism that comes with it, and she said all the right things to snap me out of it - and she ordered pizza and cokes for us and we laid in her bed until 6 pm just watching TV (we watched the Buffy the Vampire Slayer Movie, and Mariah Carey's Glitter, and everything that made us laugh!) and being hungover. She's really the best at that of anyone.

Today I not only feel physically 100 percent better, but I feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders, I feel really relaxed and silly again and I like me like that.

I'm putting off job hunting until I get moved. We're moving on Saturday - so this week is all about packing. Once I'm really settled than I can work out my self-improvement schedule. But right now - packing, reading The Invisibles, and being with the girls is lots and lots.

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com