dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2003-10-30 - 1:26 p.m.

I *love* Halloween.

I pretty much love all holidays. I can't wait to have a permanent place to live (instead of moving from apartment to apartment every year!) so that I can amass a huge collection of decorations and lawn ornaments for every holiday.

I get excited thinking about making neighbor kids happy! I get excited thinking about throwing parties! I get excited about chances to celebrate, and opportunities to bring the mystical and ridiculous into my everyday life!

I don't have a plan yet for this year. Leslie and Chrissy will be out of town . . . La won't be home from the airport until late . . . So it's up to me and Dean to be there for the trick or treaters. After that, who knows what trouble we'll get into!

Tonight: I carve the pumkin. I put up the orange lights. I get the luminarios ready.

Tomorrow: We celebrate in grandiose and Macbre fashion.

I'm going to be a PIRATE this year! How cool is that? I have a parrot, a corset, a sword, and a skull & crossbones sash, and a skull & crossbones pirate hat. I even got fake eyelashes just because I've always wanted to wear them. I think fake eyelashes are really, really sexy.

Then on Saturday: Dia del Muerto - The Day of the Dead. How awesome to live in a city that celebrates it! I remember reading about it growing up, and making my own altars to the departed, and never convincing anyone to join me. And now I am in Los Angeles, and the whole city will be celebrating it! Saturday night there is even a Day of the Dead processional through Olvera street (the oldest street in LA, downtown next to the mission LA was founded around) and I am eager to attend.

I missed the altars on exhibit at Hollywood Forever Cemetary last weekend - I hear they were phenomenal.

The world is a mysterious, magical place. And tomorrow, we celebrate!

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com