dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2005-05-13 - 8:33 a.m.

The coolest thing happened to me last night!! I was out with Dean getting pizza before we went to see the movie Millions, and at the pizza place I ran into a man who had worked with me at the job I got fired from at the University. Actually, I didn't recognize him, he saw me and came over, eager to talk to me. And what he said to me was the biggest confidence booster ever!!

He started by telling me how mad everyone at the University was about me getting fired. He said that he had been really hoping he would run into me since then, because it was important to him to let me know how unjust my firing was. He said that everyone knew it was Laurel, my old boss, who had the problem, not me. He said that people were upset "all the way up" and "even the higher-ups" were upset. He said that the position had not been filled since I left because the higher-ups decided not to give Laurel back the position -- so because she fired such a good person and there are budget cuts going around, from now on she won't have an assistant at all.

Then he complimented me - He told me that my skills made me "hot" at the University and anyone in the Humanities department would hire me. He said that I was very positive, easy to work with, and that I was very very smart. He said that Laurel got me "cheap" with all my skills, and he kept going on about how smart I was and what a quick learner and how impressed he was with my computer skills.

He then gave me his business card, and told me that if I ever needed a letter of recommendation, to contact him!! He said that if I applied at any job in the Humanities he would personally recommend me!

Wow! How often in life does a person get this kind of validation and vindication after they've been fired?? I knew in my heart that I didn't deserve to be fired, but it was such a great feeling to hear that from someone I had worked with -- It was so nice to be supported on my position that it was Laurel who had the problem, not me. And it was such a pleasant surprise to hear that my name wasn't mud at the University!

I'm still planning to apply to be a park ranger, but if that doesn't pan out, then it's a relief to know I can still apply at the University, and that I have a recommendation from someone there. You know, I have to be mindful of the fact that I live in a town of only 50,000 people and that I have to work where there are jobs.

Still, what a random cool thing to happen, to bump into an old co-worker at random and get such a great esteem boost!

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com