dreamself

Past . . . . Present . . . . Email . . . .Notes . . . .Profile

2005-05-22 - 1:49 p.m.

God I hate having to keep track of birth control. It's such an important thing! This week I screwed up - I took my ring out a week early. I thought it had been 3 weeks and then I took my ring out and I kept waiting for my period . . . but it didn't come . . . and then i started counting back the days and realized I had taken it out a week early. Of course I had sex after I had taken the ring out - so today I had to put 2 rings in just to overdose myself a little on birth control, since Planned Parenthood isn't open on the weekends and the morning after pill is still prescription -only.

The fact that the morning after pill is by prescription only, isn't over the counter, is outrageous to me. The fact that Birth control isn't over the counter is outrageous to me. It's no surprise to me that poor women have more babies -- birth control from a doctor runs 40 bucks a month and the doctor visit also costs money -- Thank God for Planned Parenthood. I think that Birth Control should be FREE. Honestly, you know birth control does not cost 40 bucks a month to manufacture - someone is profitting from this, big time! And it would cost the government far less to provide free birth control (and tampons, while we're at it!!) than to pay for all the societal problems later from unwanted pregnancies. . .

The worst part is that everytime I mess up with birth control I feel like such a screw-up! I try to keep Dean informed because if I were the other partner in this I would want to know . . . but when I tell him what's going on I think it freaks him out -- and also I feel like I let him down when he trusts me to keep this under control. I feel really really bad about making mistakes like this.

Well, the only thing to be done is to correct it (which I did) and move on . . .

previous /next

hosted by DiaryLand.com